A town of lies

Sunday was swell.

I went to Cassoday, Kansas to take some pictures of my very pregnant friend.

According to the town, it’s the prairie chicken capital of the world. I was beginning to regret not taking a photograph of their declaration but I’m glad I didn’t participate in that lie, because I didn’t see a single prairie chicken in that town.

When we arrived to the park there was a line of about 10 cars that were parked there, yet the park remained devoid of people. We tried looking for them, but they were nowhere to be found. We began making up reasons as to why no one was around. The ideas ranged from the rapture, an orgy of men in betwixt the wooded area, clans members, or a group of hooded cult members making their weekly sacrifice. We imagined them emerging from the depths of the woods, their hands soiled with blood and prepared to kill us. I was met (again) with disappointment when we learned that it was a just a group of cyclists. Not that I wanted to die, but it would have been much more interesting not knowing the truth.

After wearing out my friend with pictures we decided to head, though not before I lost my sunglasses. I have a knack for losing things, which reminds me that I’ve lost my sunglasses yet again.

I’m hoping to have many more small photographic adventures like this. If i’m going to be stuck in Kansas I’m going to at least explore the crap out of all it’s weird little towns, abandoned or not. It gives me such great joy exploring. I feel like the lesser version of Indiana Jones, many might take that as an insult but i’m quite alright with that. I’d rather evade non-deadly obstacles in my pursuit of adventure, imagined ones are a lot safer. 🙂

And now to tackle the mountains of homework that I’ve been neglecting. Yay.

Leave a Reply

