Adventure to the Joyless land

I made my way to Joyland, again. This time their were no rambunctious teenagers nor police men! Yay. It was a last minute decision and I’m glad that I did go. It’s such a wonderful place to visit, even in its dilapidated state. 

I only ever went to Joyland twice, while it was still an open theme park. I had fun and was pretty bummed that it was closed down, especially since it was one less thing to do in the already sparse list of things to do in Wichita. 

ImageImageImageImageThis is the Whacky Shack, by far my most favorite of all the buildings. Walking through it is eerie. The first time, of course, was a little more haunting than the second time — especially since one of the doors slammed close while were midway through the ride. Not a great thing to experience when you’re standing in pitch black darkness. Fun times though! ImageImageThis is my lovely friend, who doesn’t mind my practicing my picture taking skills on her.ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageI couldn’t decide which looked better, so here’s both. 🙂ImageImageImageImageImageThe piano. This piano made my day. It’s beautiful. ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageI swear, I could have called this place the Hogwarts Express. The inside was amazing and I would love to make it my vacation home. ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Oh Joyland, I love to explore you. I always find something new and amazing in you. 

 

 

48 thoughts on “Adventure to the Joyless land

  1. Interesting what closed businesses tell about their culture. The sadness and abundance of past joy (imagine that!) in your photos is clear, and a thousand stories could accompany every ticket, the trees growing up through the Ferris wheel, the scratches on piano keys (those are my favorites) – how many kids cried near the cotton candy stand? Who else sat in that old desk, and what did they learn?

    The lighting is gorgeous. Thank you.

  2. You have the type of eye that can make even the most mundane object artistic and interesting. Love it.

  3. I LOVE this! Wish I lived near enough to visit this place. Thanks to you, I feel like I did. Great photos. So artistic and poignant, I can almost smell the leaves I swear have collected on my feet 🙂

  4. Interesting Photographs!

  5. Any place that had something called the Wacky Shack had to have been awesomely fun to go to.

  6. The photographs that you shared are amazing.. these are not just photographs these are the graphic stories of those places.. I loved your post.. thanks for sharing 🙂

  7. Really terrific pictures! I love the variety of angles and colors you use. 🙂 Thanks for sharing the beauty and adventure.

  8. Amazing photos!! I’ve always wanted to photograph in an abandoned location–this place truly is a gem…how long has it been that way?

    • Thank you so much for your kind comment! 🙂

      Officially, I believe it’s been closed since 2004. Their have been several groups and companies who have attempted to restore and revitalize it, unfortunately all attempts have been unsuccessful. So, to answer your question it’s been that way for 8 years.

  9. Love the photos! Looks like you had a great time there:) While browsing them, I sort of felt the urge to revisit old nostalgic places I’ve been to before.

  10. Wow, what an amazing place. I can’t believe they just left everything standing and lying around, just for us photographers! Also an awesome location for zombie movies. I especially love the color photo of the piano in the light beam and the photo of the ferris wheel with trees growing through it.

  11. very Halloweeny – spooky and cool and a little scary–especially love the piano –did it make any noise?

  12. Abandoned buildings and places really do something to me. Like someone mentioned, everything abandoned was once someone’s hope and dreams. An abandoned theme park or (school) takes it to another level because they certainly represented innocence and joy. Your photos tell a wonderful story; I especially love the piano. Interesting enough I actually went to Joyland when it was full of life.

  13. What phenomenal piano photos. Haunting and sorrowful, so beautiful. Well done!!

  14. This was a great post. You’re right about that piano…so beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

  15. Gorgeous photos – I love the abandoned pinball machine!

  16. You have such a great talent with your pictures! Love them!

  17. Interesting photos, particularly just after reading “Five People You Meet in Heaven.”

  18. 😦 kinda sad…. specially if it reminds of the used to be very joyful place…what anadventure

  19. Reblogged this on christine'slife and commented:
    I came across this and thought wow how well put together 😀

  20. Some very nice photos. Well done.

  21. i specially love the one of the red window and the wooden chair.

  22. Love the photos and the atmosphere they create. There is so much beauty in old abandoned objects. I have reblogged this post.

  23. These are absolutely fabulous! What an interesting looking place 🙂

  24. I am impressed – first time very long time.. Thanks for sharing

  25. These pictures are really rusty and wonderful… 🙂

  26. Haunting images – you captured some remarkable images. I particularly like the piano!

  27. This was awesome. Very frame-able. And that piano! Did you notice the keys were down to the wood? They were probably Ivory keys. So great! Thanks for sharing.

  28. Wonderful images!!! Such a cool setting, congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  29. This is just hauntingly beautiful! I would love to visit a place like this one day. You’ve got some amazing shots. The buildings, the rides, the old ticket stubs, the piano, it’s all perfect. Thank you so much for sharing.

  30. Really cool, interesting place. You can feel the history and mystery of it.

  31. Looks like a great place to hole up after a zombie apocalypse. 🙂

    Wait… shoot… maybe they should open the park for a short time during Halloween and do a Haunted Park party or something. I bet it would be awesome.

  32. those are really beautifully captured

Leave a Reply

